Governors | Hall Cross Academy

The governing body is the school’s accountable body.  It is responsible for the conduct of the school and for promoting high standards.  The governing body aims to ensure that our young people are attending a successful school which provides them with a good education and supports their well-being. It will fulfil this role by:

1. Setting the strategic direction of the school by:

  • Setting the values, aims and objectives for the school
  • Agreeing the policy framework for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Setting statutory targets
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes approving the budget and agreeing the staffing structure

2. Challenging and supporting the school by monitoring, reviewing and evaluating:

  • The implementation and effectiveness of the policy framework
  • Progress towards targets
  • The implementation and effectiveness of the school improvement strategy
  • The budget and the staffing structure

3. Ensuring accountability by:

  • Responding to Ofsted reports when necessary
  • Holding the Principal to account for the performance of the school
  • Ensuring parents and pupils are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate
  • Making available information to the community

4. Appointing and performance managing the Principal who will deliver the aims (through the day to day management of the school, implementation of the agreed policy framework and school improvement strategy, and delivery of the curriculum) and report appropriately to the governing body.

Dave Cox
Chair Of Governors

New Parent Governors

Dear Parent/Guardian

We are currently looking to add to and strengthen the membership of our Governing Body.

An effective and well balanced Governing Body should comprise a range of complementary skills and experience and be representative of the community served by the school. Ideally, governors should have an interest in local education, understand and care about the status of schools in society and wish to make a positive contribution to education and the community.

Below is an information sheet, which provides more details regarding school governance.


If you feel that you have the skills, time and enthusiasm to join our Governing Body and would like to register your interest, please contact the Principal’s PA by email: lev@hallcrossacademy.co.uk or telephone on 01302 347101.

Yours sincerely

Dave Cox
Chair Of Governors

Our Governors

Mr P Harper

Parent Governor

Start Date: 08/07/2019

End Date: 07/07/2023

Ms J Hewitt

Teacher Governor

Start Date: 08/07/2019

End Date: 07/07/2023

Mr S Swain


Mr T Abdul

Parent Governor

Start Date: 17/09/2018

End Date: 16/09/2022

Mr L Parish

Parent Governor

Start Date: 05/02/2018

End Date: 04/02/2022

Mr T Thorpe

Co-Opted Governor

Start Date: 01/01/2018

End Date: 31/12/2021

Mr T Hince

Co-opted Governor

Start Date: 16/09/2019

End Date: 31/12/2021

Mr G May

Clerk to the Board

Mr S Masterman

Parent Governor

Start Date: 14/12/2015

End Date: 13/12/2019

Mr D Cox


Start Date: 21/11/2016

End Date: 20/11/2020

Mrs T Drabble


Start Date: 25/02/2019

End Date: 23/02/2023

Mr D Westwood

Vice Chair

Start Date: 11/12/2018

End Date: 10/12/2022

Mr RM Williams *


Start Date: 21/11/2016

End Date: 20/11/2020

Mrs J Foxton *


Start Date: 01/09/2018

End Date: 31/08/2022

Mr A Townsend

Parent Governor

Start Date: 01/09/2017

End Date: 31/08/2021

Mr A King

Year Manager (Year 11)

Start Date: 01/01/2018

End Date: 31/12/2021

* Members of the Academy Trust

Meeting Dates & Documents

Governor Groups

Hall Cross Academy
Future First Artsmark
A paper copy of the information on our website is available on request to the School.